Board of Directors 2015

Board of Directors

SFDC’s 13-member Board of Directors represents a broad cross-section of community, business, economic development, and real estate leaders.

SFDC Officers

  • Walter C. Clarke, President, Business Banking Vice President with Burke & Herbert Bank. Served on the SFDC board since 2011.
  • Mark Viani, Vice President, Zoning and land use attorney with Bean Kinney & Korman LLP. Mark was elected to the Board in 2014 and is currently the Chair of SFDCs’ Economic Development Committee.
  • Bruce Leonard, Treasurer, Managing Principal of Streetsense. He has over 20 years of experience designing and executing mixed-use projects throughout the United States and Europe.
  • Carlos Heard, Secretary, Acquisitions, BF Saul Company and Saul Centers


SFDC Board of Directors
  • Katy Fike, Realtor with McEnearney Associates. Member of the Mount Vernon-Lee Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.
  • Mike Kitchen, an engineer with christopher consultants, is Co-Chair of SFDC’s M-CAPT Committee.
  • Richard (Dick) Knapp has spent 27 years in the US Army and a decade in private industry. He has been involved with the revitalization of Richmond Highway since 1978, and is Co-Chair of SFDC’s M-CAPT Committee.
  • Vik Patel, Senior Vice President of Baywood Hotels.
  • Karen Pohorylo, President of Todd Restaurants, Inc.
  • Chris Soule, former president of the Jefferson Manner  Civic Association.
  • John Thillmann, retired, formerly Vice President of Landmark Atlantic Holdings, a real estate development firm.
  • Rebecca (Becky) Todd, Owner of Pohorylo’z Fitness Upholstery. Karen is a native of the Mount Vernon area and an active member of Mount Vernon Council of Citizens’ Association, Fairfax Federation, and Engleside Civic Association.
  • Ellen Young is a civic association president and the appointee of the Mount Vernon Council of Civic Associations.